Have your conference in Bochum

A place for economy and science

The close relationship between economy and science in Bochum is one of its key strengths. The importance of knowledge transfer was recognised in the city at an early stage and led to the creation of countless networks and individual partnerships. As a result, establishments such as medlands.RUHR or the Horst Görtz Institut (HGI) promote innovation and are leading Bochum's economy into the future.

What is special about Bochum's economy is its diversity: the major businesses that operate here are from a wide variety of sectors. This is a healthy mix that lends the city vitality and stability. The export share of more than 50 percent highlights the advantages of Bochum's location and structure and is a sign of products that are in international demand.

The purposeful promotion of sectors with a promising future, such as health, production, IT security, geothermics and electromobility is paying off.

The commitment to continuous development lives from the very real exchange between economy and science. The Ruhr University Bochum and the five additional universities in the region undertake joint ventures with businesses and the authorities in countless facilities, networks and working groups. They also educate the young, who will be the ones to shape Bochum in the future.

Once it was coal mining that shaped Bochum, and nowadays the energy sector is still important to the Ruhr metropolis. Interdisciplinary research is carried out into sustainable energy generation and material efficiency at numerous institutes at the Ruhr University, Bochum University of Applied Sciences, and the Georg Agricola Technical University of Applied Sciences. The star attraction: Bochum's economy benefits directly from the results of various collaborations. Businesses and associations have recognised this and moved to Bochum. This is, for example, how Bochum has become an important city for geothermics.

Hotline

For tickets, hotels, sightseeing tours or general information

+49 234 96 30 20

To the events calendar [DE]

Buy tickets [DE]

Bochum Tourismus ist eine Seite der

Bochum Marketing

Tagen in Bochum

Wirtschafts- und Wissenschaftsstandort

Zu den Stärken des Standortes Bochum gehört die enge Verzahnung von Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft. Die Bedeutung des Wissenstransfers wurde in der Stadt schon früh erkannt und führte zur Schaffung zahlreicher Netzwerke und individueller Partnerschaften. So fördern Einrichtungen wie medlands.RUHR oder das Horst Görtz Institut (HGI) Innovationen und führen die Bochumer Wirtschaft in die Zukunft.

Das Besondere an der Bochumer Wirtschaft ist ihre Vielfalt: Die vor Ort tätigen großen Unternehmen kommen aus den unterschiedlichsten Branchen. Ein gesunder Mix, der dem Standort Vitalität und Stabilität verleiht. Die Exportquote von über 50 Prozent unterstreicht dabei die Lage- und Strukturvorteile und ist ein Zeichen für international gefragte Produkte.

Die gezielte Förderung von zukunftsträchtigen Branchen wie der Gesundheitswirtschaft, Produktionswirtschaft, IT-Sicherheit, Geothermie und Elektromobilität zahlt sich aus.

Das Bekenntnis zur ständigen Entwicklung lebt vom intensiven Austausch zwischen Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft. Die Ruhr-Universität Bochum und die fünf weiteren Hochschulen am Standort engagieren sich gemeinsam mit Unternehmen und der Verwaltung in zahlreichen Einrichtungen, Netzwerken und Arbeitskreisen. Nicht zuletzt bilden sie auch die jungen Menschen aus, die das Bochum von morgen prägen werden.

Die Kohleförderung hat Bochum einst geprägt, und noch heute ist der Energiesektor in der Ruhrmetropole wichtig. An zahlreichen Instituten der Ruhr-Universität Bochum, der Hochschule Bochum sowie der Technischen Hochschule Georg Agricola wird interdisziplinär in den Bereichen nachhaltiger Energieerzeugung und Materialeffizienz geforscht. Der Clou: Die Bochumer Wirtschaft profitiert durch vielfältige Kooperationen direkt von den Ergebnissen. Das haben auch Unternehmen und Verbände erkannt und sind nach Bochum gezogen. So hat sich die Stadt beispielsweise zu einem wichtigen Standort für Geothermie entwickelt.

Hotline

Für Tickets, Hotels, Stadtführungen oder für allgemeine Informationen

0234 96 30 20

Zum Veranstaltungskalender

Tickets kaufen

Bochum Tourismus ist eine Seite der

Bochum Marketing